## Message from Division VP December 2014 Ming Fang He



Dear Division B Curriculum Studies Colleagues:

I sincerely hope that everybody keeps cultivating worthwhile curriculum work during this trembling and troubling time!

First of all, I would like to send thousands of forever thankful flowers to our courageous and creative 2015 Program Team: Program Co-Chairs--Pamela Konkol (Concordia University Chicago) and Jennifer Milam (University of Akron); Section 1 Co-Chairs (Critical and Post-Foundationalist Perspectives and Practices)--Debbie Sonu (Hunter College) and Wade Tillett(University of Wisconsin-Whitewater); Section 2 Co-Chairs (Decolonizing, Transnational, and Indigenous Inquiry)--Noah Sobe(Loyola University-Chicago) and Nicholas Ng-A-Fook (University of Ottawa); Section 3 Co-Chairs (Challenging Methodological and Representational Boundaries)--Travis Wright (University of Wisconsin) and Jorge Lucero (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign); Section 4 Co-Chairs (Spatial Justice: Youth, Community Activism, and Ecologies)--Min Yu(Missouri State University) and M. Francyne Huckaby (Texas Christian University); Section 5 Co-Chairs (Historical, Philosophical, and (Inter)Disciplinary Knowledges)-Ricardo Rosa (University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth) and Sabrina Ross(Georgia Southern University); Section 6 Co-Chairs (Cultural Studies: Critical Media Literacies, Popular Culture, and Posthumanisms)--Jake Burdick (Purdue University) and Jung Kim (Lewis University). With your exceptional wisdom, hard work, and synergy, another thought provoking and irresistible program is in the making!

Thousands of exquisite flowers go to our incomparable Newsletter Editors--**Diane Watt** (University of Ottawa) and **Suniti Sharma** (St. Joseph's University) for creating such an exhilarating space for us to share, to listen, and to honor diversity in unity and unity in diversity in curriculum studies!

Thousands of heartfelt thanks to the reviewers who took their precious time to provide insightful and critical reviews for our proposals and those who made commitment to participating in the 2015 AERA Annual Meeting in Chicago as chairs, presenters, and discussants! We could not have pulled together such vibrant programs within AERA without you!

I would like to thank our Secretary, **Isabel Nuñez**, and our Affirmative Action Officer, **Crystal Laura!** With both of you, sources of energy and wisdom, we will continue to build our curriculum work on the **Principles of Diversity for AERA Division B**suggested by Bernadette Baker and initiated under the VP-ship of Donald Blumenfeld-Jones (see details from our Division B's home page at AERA).

Thousands of heartfelt thanks to those who are graciously willing to serve as our Division's New Officers! I feel extremely honored to work with such brilliant, passionate, and compassionate colleagues (see Division B Officers and Program Chairs in the following pages for details). Your courageous and creative service for our Division continues to inspire and invigorate the unyielding and mighty curriculum work engaged in by curriculum studies workers--researchers, scholars, policy makers, parents, community workers, movement organizers as we develop our understanding toward and enact our action upon contested curriculum issues and situations in context, practice, inquiry and theory in an increasingly trembling and troubling world.

With great enthusiasm, I am calling for the nomination for the 2015 AERA Division B Awards. Please take your invaluable time to identify and nominate worthy candidates for the 2015 AERA Division B Awards. See details from the descriptions of the awards and procedures for nomination from our Division B Fall Newsletter and our Division B website under "Awards." Please note that the deadline for all the nominations is December 31, 2014.

Please also pay special attention to all the exciting Division B Pre-Conference Seminars led by a group of inspirational and generous curriculum workers~scholars. Please see *Call for Proposals* for participation in those seminars from our Division B home page under "Meetings & Other Events!" Please note that the deadline for all the applications is January 31, 2015.

In particular, we thank all of our members, especially our graduate students for their invigorating participations at various levels in our Division B! You are the arising prominence and future of curriculum studies!

Sincerely,
Ming Fang He
AERA Division B VP (2014-2017)